Google wants to provide a more simplified experience to its users.
Earlier, users could easily make the images folder visible through Drive settings so they could access the uploaded folders to Google Photos and new photos could be added through Google Drive.
However, this service will not be available anymore as, from next month, new pictures and videos added in Google Drive won’t show up on Google Photos automatically, and just like this, content uploaded to Google Photos will not arrive in your Drive.
Deleting content from one location won’t make it disappear from the other.
According to the official statement, starting from , new photos and videos added in Google Drive won’t show up on Google Photos automatically. Likewise, new content uploaded to Google Photos will not arrive on your Google Drive.
Deleting photos and videos from the Drive won’t remove them from photos and vice versa.
This new update is an effort to stop the accidental deletion of files across services.
According to Google, the Backup and Sync application are still available for users who want to upload images on both platforms.
All the photos synced between the platforms will remain in both places after this update.
Google will introduce a new option known as Upload from Drive for users who want to move images and videos within Drive and Photos.
This new option will allow the users to choose pictures manually in Google Drive to carry into Google Photos.
Photo: SOPA Images / Getty Images